Pudong Area

pudong areaPudong, officially known as Pudong New Area, is a district of Shanghai, China that enjoys sub-provincial administrative status. It is named "Pudong" because of its location on the east side of the Huangpu river, on the opposite of Puxi, the west side. After its merger with Nanhui District (now defunct) in May 2009, the Pudong New Area comprises the majority of land in eastern Shanghai.

This area used to be a vast farmland where the locals grew vegetables and planted fruit, however, it now has transformed into the fastest developed international economic area in China with looming skyscrapers and hi-tech international enterprises. Pudong consists of four parts in its 523 sq. km: the Lujiazui Finance and Trade Zone, the Jinqiao Export Processing Zone, the Waigaoqiao Bonded Zone, and the Zhangjiang Hi-tech Park Zone. In the last few years, Pudong has witnessed a massive influx of foreign investment. Good investment environment and flexible policies have since attracted more international groups and Chinese mainland companies to move their offices to Pudong.

Pudong New Area is also an increasingly popular tourist destination in China. The main attractions here include the Oriental Pearl TV Tower, Jinmao Building, Century Park, Science and Technology Museum.

More questions?

Your Message:

Your Name: *

Your Email: *

Verify Code: *

We will reply within 1 working day !